top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

6 Ways My Teacher Toolbox Has Helped Me When Disciplining My Toddler

I really believe that being a teacher has helped me be a better mother.

There are many tools in my teacher toolbox that I can use when dealing with my toddler.

I am far from perfect. I am far from a perfect teacher and probably farther from perfect mother. Every day, though, I try to learn something and be better than the day before.

Just like in the classroom, at home, I am always adding and tweaking my toolbox but I am finding that many of my beliefs as a teacher are also my beliefs as a mother.

Here are six of my teacher toolbox tricks that I use with my toddler to help set and limit bad behavior.

1. Pick Your Battles – This one I use in every aspect of my life. Just like in the classroom when you are dealing with 30 other people who have their own personalities, beliefs and fears, at home it turns out my son is also his own person. Define what is important to you. Set limits. Follow through with appropriate consequences.That basically what my classroom management plan is and how I teach my son to make good choices.

I also praise for behaviors I want. Just like in my classroom, I hope the positive reinforcement will encourage more good behavior.

2. Know Your Child’s Trigger – Some misbehaviors are preventable. We all know the triggers for at least a few of our students and we try to avoid or at least limit them. I do the same thing at home.

Wiping my son’s face while he is sitting in the high chair is a battle but if I let him down first he has no problem with me doing it.So I let him down first.He loves playing with the toilet paper so instead of constantly telling him no, I simply keep the bathroom doors closed.

3. Be Consistent – I find this one easier to do in the classroom.

Just like in the classroom, if you don’t get control in September then your May is really long and hard.

One day my two year old is going to be sixteen and if I am not consistent at two then I won’t have any control at sixteen and is older, smarter and has access to more resources.

4. Don’t Get Emotional – In my classroom, I like to say that I may raise my voice but I don’t scream. Screaming to me means that I have lost control.

It’s the same at home with my toddler, I may have to raise my voice because he didn’t respond when I told him to come to me at the park or is doing something dangerous but that doesn’t mean that I’m angry or that the second he is making good choices that I am not once again using my normal voice.

Take a deep breath and get eye level. Be firm and serious when you reprimand but not angry.

5. Keep It Short and Simple – In my classroom, I simply say this is the rule they broke and the consequence and I move on. Sometimes later we talk about what they did and why and usually why it is a rule. At the time, though, I keep it short, simple and emotionless.

I do the same with my toddler.My son can’t yet process detailed explanations or reasons but even as he gets older, I plan to keep it short and simple.

And just like in your classroom, with your toddler plan on repeating yourself often!

6. Stay Positive – Every day is a new day in the classroom and every day is a new day with your toddler.

Most of their behaviors will be corrected over time or many they will simply just grow out of.

Try not to vent about your child’s behavior in front of your child.They may still not be able to understand the difference between you being upset or frustrated with their behavior and you being upset or frustrated with them.

If you do need to vent, do it though.Being a teacher mom is so rewarding but also so exhausting and overwhelming.Find a friend, spouse or doctor to turn to and confide in.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page