top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

6 Non Technology Related Activities To Do With Kids

I am addicted to my phone.

I don’t like to admit that.

I’m not a teenager. I am a mom. And yet, I’m addicted to my phone.

Before I was a mom, it wasn’t a big deal. Now, I worry though that my son is going to feel like I don’t spend enough time paying attention to him because I am paying attention to my phone.

Honestly, its not just my phone either. The television in my house is always one. Always. Even if no one is watching it.

I have decided to try to spend less time using technology and to teach him that although technology can be helpful, it is more important to spend time really paying attention to each other.

There are four things I have decided to do to help me limit my technology addiction (I’m far from perfect but I am trying):

1. Choose Outdoor Activities – When I am out of the house, I try to stay off my phone. I do make an exception when it comes to taking pictures but if others are taking pictures, I will try not to do that either. I want him to have great memories of me playing with him, not memories of me on the phone while he played.

2. Limit Social Media Use – This one is still a work in progress for me. I have limited the times when I am aimlessly browsing. I have also limited which apps can send me notifications. I have learned that I can’t ignore the sound when an app sends me a notification, so I set my phone up, so I don’t get as many.

3. Read – I try to read every day. This is a great habit for me and a great thing for my little guy to see me doing.

4. Create Projects – I try to do projects or crafts with my son. It is so much fun to create things with him and I really enjoy using my creativity as well. It feels so good to feel like I have accomplished something and now have something to show for it.

We also try to find activities we can do as a family that doesn’t need technology. Here are a few ideas we do in our house (or are planning on doing):

1. Family Game Night – Games are great ways for kids to learn. It is also a great way to teach kids to be good losers and winners, which is very important to me. We don’t play any board games yet, as my little one is too young but we still play games.

2. Puzzles – I am not very good at puzzles. Beyond toddler puzzles, I really struggle. As he gets older though I still want to continue doing puzzles together. Puzzles are another great way for families to spend time together talking, laughing and to teach kids problem solving skills.

3. Reading Read books with your kids and talk to them about them. I read to my son every night. We do this often when kids are young but as they get older we can still read chapter books with them. If you don’t want to read kids book you can still set aside family reading time when everyone is reading at the same time.

4. Park – My little one loves the park. I love the fresh air and being outside completely away from the technology for a little while. This is also a great way to get family exercising together.

5. Watch the Sunset – My son and I sit outside every night. We watch the sunset and talk about the sounds we hear and the sights we see. Even better go out into the country or someplace high and make a game out of who can spot the first star.

6. Camp in the Backyard – If going away to camp isn’t possible, make a campfire in the backyard and make hot dogs and roast marshmallows. If weather allows, put up a tent and camp in the backyard. This is one I am planning to do soon!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page