top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

4 Steps to Choose a Preschool

My husband stayed home with our son the first 18 months of his life. My son had heartburn as a baby and it would not have been fair or possible to put him in preschool before his first birthday.

My husband was very excited about going back to work. He loved our baby but was really going stir crazy in the house. He needed to get out of the house and he needed to talk to people that spoke more than 8 words.

We were both excited.

Until the morning we dropped him off the first time.

We did our homework. I asked other teacher mom friends where they took their kids and we did a tour of the school.

I had some reservations about the school but everything they said sounded great and I thought it was just me being overprotective and not wanting someone else to take care of him.

We dropped him off the first day together. When I got to work I cried.

The first day when I picked him up, they told me he didn’t eat or drink anything all day. I was upset they hadn’t called me or my husband to tell me that he wasn’t eating or drinking.

When I looked at him, I could tell he had been crying and when I asked why no one could give me an answer.

He was clean and uninjured, but I still wasn’t comfortable. Everyone I talked to said I was overreacting. They told me he had never been away from us before and it was going to take time for everyone to adjust.

I continued to take him that week, but I also decided to tour another preschool.

This preschool from the very beginning put me at ease. The very first day, when I picked him up he was happier, he had eaten and had even had an arts and crafts project that he had completed that day.

He still attends this preschool everyday and I am so comfortable with him there.

Choosing a preschool for your son or daughter can be difficult emotionally but it is also very important. My number one advice is listen to your gut. You need to be comfortable with who and where your child is all day while you are away.

Here are four steps that will help you choose the right preschool for your family:

Step 1 – The Basic Questions

Ask yourself some basic questions to help you decide the general location and type of place you want to further research.

  1. How close do you want the preschool to be from your home?

  2. How close do you want the preschool to be from your place of employment?

  3. Will you need childcare services in the morning, evening or both?

  4. Are you eligible for subsidized preschool programs (i.e. Childcare and Development Fund, Head Start, etc.) that offer services for childcare programs?

Step 2 – Common Terms

There are many educational philosophies that preschools embrace. Here are a few:

*Montessori Method – Focuses on keeping the individuality of each child in the learning process.

*Reggio Emilia Approach – Focuses on giving opportunities for problem solving, creative thinking and exploration.

*Waldorf Approach – Focuses on using their imagination in learning, providing students with opportunities to explore their world through the senses.

*Bank Street Approach – Focuses on learning through multiple perspectives both in the classroom and in the natural world.

*High/Scope Approach – Focuses on letting children oversee their own learning.

Outside of the educational philosophies some other common terms used in many preschools are:

*Child-Centered – A setting that the takes the children’s interests into consideration when planning activities.

*Teacher-Led – A setting in which the curriculum and activities are implemented on a set schedule developed by the teacher and/or school.

*Child-Led – A setting in which the staff believes that children learn best when they are engaged and interested in learning.

*Faith-Based – A setting that is run through a faith organization.

*Co-Operative – A setting that asks parents to help in the running of the preschool.

*Developmentally Appropriate – A setting in which curriculum and activities are based on what is proper for the age of the children.

*Pre-Kindergarten (Pre-K) – A setting that is often more structured than a traditional preschool setting.

Step 3 – Research

Reach out to other parents. Ask them where they send their kids and if they like the preschool and why they like it.

Google or yelp it or ask an online parenting group. This is a great way to find out ratings and read reviews.

Step Four – Take a Tour

This is your chance to get a feel for the preschool and the staff. Feel free to ask questions. Here are a few you might consider asking:

  1. What is the turnover rate for staff members?

  2. What percentage of the staff hold degrees in early childhood?

  3. How does the preschool handle discipline?

  4. What are the safety procedures for picking up and dropping off children?

  5. Is the preschool accredited?

  6. What are the payment options and procedures?

  7. Will the preschool call if there is a problem or concern with your child?

As you are taking the tour and asking questions make sure you ask yourself the following questions:

  1. Do I feel welcome here?

  2. Do the children seem happy and engaged?

  3. Do the adults and children interact in a loving and respectful way?

  4. Is the preschool clean, safe and colorful?

29 views0 comments
bottom of page