top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

22 Must Have Items for Every Diaper Bag

It is truly amazing how much stuff a mother can hold.

I had no idea before I became a mom that I could hold my purse, my phone, my keys, a diaper bag, a drink and a baby all at the same time.

As a mom carrying as much as you can is important if you want to be ready for any situation. The first time I packed the diaper bag, I wasn’t sure if I had everything I needed.

Here are my 22 must have item for every diaper bag:

  1. Diapers – I always keep my diaper bag filled with diapers. Before I leave, I always check to make sure I have enough. I want at least one for every hour I think I am going to be gone and then a couple extra just in case. It is impossible to have too many diapers.

  2. Wipes – I keep a whole package of wipes in my bag. If that is not possible take 10 or so, depending how long you are going to be out, and put them in a small plastic sandwich bag. Wipes are good to clean up hands and faces as well as for diaper changes. You can’t have too many wipes either.

  1. Hand Sanitizer – This is a necessity if you are going anywhere public. I always use hand sanitizer before and after a diaper change and before I make a bottle or feed my baby.

  2. Changing Pad – Many diaper bags come with a changing pad but you can also buy them separately. I have also packed a small blanket or towel to use in the place of a changing pad.

  3. Plastic Bags – You will need to have some place to put the dirty diapers and wipes.

  4. Bottles and Formula or Breast Milk – Bring the amount you think you are going to need plus a little extra in case you are out longer than expected.

  5. Snacks – For toddlers snacks is always a must.

  6. Bibs – Babies who are drinking from a bottle and toddlers who are eating snacks are both messy. Don’t forget the bibs!

  7. Sippy cup – Bring a sippy cup filled with water, juice or milk for your toddlers.

  8. Blankets – I always like to have two. Blankets can be used to keep your baby warm, as a changing pad, nursing cover, or burp cloth.

  9. Extra Clothes for your Child and You – I always pack an extra outfit for your baby in case of spit up, pee or poop accident. I pack an extra shirt for me for all the same reasons.

  1. Pacifier – If your baby uses a pacifier this can be a great way to comfort them if they start to get fussy. I keep mine in a plastic sandwich bad along with bottle nipples so they stay clean.

  2. Sunscreen or Hat – If you are going to be outside make sure you bring sunscreen and/or a hat to protect your baby from the sun.

  3. Emergency Phone Numbers – In the case of an emergency you always want to be able to get a hold of your doctor.

  4. Diaper Rash Cream – I always keep a travel size tube of diaper rash cream in my diaper bag just in case.

  5. Nursing Cover – If you are breastfeeding, you may want to keep a cover handy.

  6. Breast Pad – Extra pads to slip into your bra when needed.

  7. Sling or Wrap for Carrying Baby – If you are out and about, there is a chance your hand will be full so pack a sling or wrap so you can carry your baby hands free.

  8. Toys – Bored babies are fussy babies, so make sure you pack their second favorite toy or book. I never pack their favorite in case it gets lost or broken while we are out.

  9. First Aid Kit – You just never know when you might need a band aid or antibiotic cream.

  10. Money – I like to keep a little extra money in my diaper bag in the case of an emergency.

  11. Burp Cloths–After feeding your baby, you will need to burp them. Keep an extra burp cloth or wash cloth.

What are you experiences and opinions?

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page