top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

6 Reasons Naps Are Essential for Babies

When I was a kid anytime I was extra cranky or talked back to my mom, she always made me go lay down for half an hour. The deal she would make me was always the same. If I was still awake in half an hour, I could get up. I would lay down and stare at the clock, willing it to move faster. Often within minutes I was asleep.

Fast forward 30 years later and I have a son who is not a good sleeper. At 8 months old, he still does not sleep through the night. He does not like naps. He also gets cranky when he doesn’t get one and fights taking one every day.

As it turns out, apples don’t fall far from the tree.

Now that I am a mom, I know that my mom made me lay down, hoping I would fall asleep and be in a better mood when I woke up but also to give herself a break from me, the fussy kid.

Here are 6 reasons why naps are so essential for babies and their development. And their moms!

Cognitive Development

Research shows that babies that nap demonstrate higher levels of learning and memory. Even if they had slept through the night, the nap seemed to be crucial in them be able to remember what they had learned. Infants all the way up to preschoolers need frequent naps to form long term memories and solidify learning.

Physical Development

Babies and toddlers grow at an exceptional rate. A lot of their physical growth happens while they sleep, so depriving them of sleep impacts not only their mental growth but also their physical growth.

Emotional Development

Babies and toddlers that don’t get enough naps during the day can show more signs of anxiety. Missing naps can affect how they express their feelings and decrease their positive emotional response.

Happy Baby

A well-rested baby is a happy baby. So much of the world is new for babies and toddlers and so much of what we ask them to do is new and difficult for them. Their bodies and brains are constantly changing. Without naps, it is difficult for them to deal with the day to day challenges and stresses.

Better Nighttime Sleep

Although, it seems counterintuitive, a baby who naps usually sleeps better at night. Skipping naps can cause the baby to become overtired, irritable and more prone to nightly tantrums.

Needed Downtime

Just as adults need our “me” time to recharge, the same can be true for toddlers and preschoolers. It gives the child a time to use their imagination and relieve stress.

I’m sure many of you have babies like mine, who can be difficult to put down for a nap. Here are five tips I have discovered to make this process easier.

Environment

A dark, quiet cool place is the best place for your baby to nap. The more comfortable they are, the more likely they are to sleep.

Put Baby Down Tired but Awake

Look for the first signs of being tired such as rubbing of the eyes, fussiness and drooping eyes. As soon as you see these symptoms put your baby down for a nap. Again, it can be difficult to get an overtired, cranky baby to sleep.

Avoid Rocking and Holding

If your baby consistently falls asleep in your arms, eventually this will be the only way your baby will be able to fall asleep.

Safety

Always keep safety in mind. Always place your baby on their back and clear the crib or bassinet of blankets, stuffed animals or any other objects.

Consistency

Babies that sleep at the same time, in the same place for the same amount of time every day will have more successful naps. Babies learn through repetition and consistency gives babies a sense of security and comfort.

It can be difficult and inconvenient to have a napping baby every day but making sure they get enough sleep can help your baby in so many ways. Not to mention it gives momma a break!

What are your thoughts and opinions?

14 views0 comments
bottom of page