top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

Postpartum Body Changes

When I got pregnant I knew my body would change. I knew I might get stretch marks and my breasts might sag but I was unprepared for all the changes that happened after giving birth.

Here are a few changes my body went through that surprised me!

Chills

I started shaking after delivery. I had the chills and couldn’t seem to get warm. I stay bundled up under a warm blanket for hours.

Hair Loss

A few weeks after giving birth my hair started falling out in handfuls. I was shocked and worried. Was I going bald? After doing some research I found out that it is perfectly natural for a woman’s hair to fall out after giving birth. Pregnant women, due to high levels of estrogen, lose less hair than average. After giving birth, your body compensates and you lose more hair for about six months. The good news was that during pregnancy I started to grow side burns and I also lost those.

Stomach Changes

I thought after I gave birth my belly would return to its normal size. I didn’t know it takes about 6-8 weeks before my uterus was going to be back to its normal size. Even that was not enough for me to have my pre-baby stomach back. After I lost the baby weight I was surprised at how different my stomach looked and felt. Yes, I had stretch marks but it was more than that. I was squishy. Even after my uterus shrunk back to its original size, I continued to look pregnant. During pregnancy, your abdominal muscles get stretched and it takes time and exercise to get your belly back in shape. There are many exercises that should help get your belly back to what it was. To be honest, I’m still working on this though!

Loss of Bladder Feeling

I was shocked that after giving birth, I didn’t have the urge to pee. Childbirth can cause temporary swelling and loss of sensitivity. After a day or two I realized that I had to go even if I couldn’t feel it. I would randomly just go to the bathroom every couple of hours.

Constipation

I had no idea that after giving birth I would be constipated for days afterwards. I took a stool softener but the first time was still uncomfortable.

Vaginal Discharge

After giving birth, it is natural to bleed to for a couple of weeks. Everything that is left from your uterine lining must be discharged. It is called lochia and includes blood, bacteria and tissue.

Energy Levels

For some women, their energy levels may rise after giving birth. I was not one of those women. After giving birth, I was in pain and the exhaustion of caring for a newborn made me feel sluggish and tired.

Lack of Sex Drive

I was tired. I was sore. My body was going through a lot of hormonal changes. I had a beautiful baby latched on to me every couple of hours. Did I mention I was tired? I was not interested in sex or being touched. Estrogen levels rise during pregnancy and plummet quickly after birth. The change in estrogen levels often leads to women having a low sex drive.

Body Shape

The shape of my body is different than it was before. I am back to my pre-pregnancy weight but I still look very different in the mirror than I did before. My breasts, my butt and hips are shaped differently. I like to think my new softer, motherly shaped body morphed into the perfect body to snuggle my baby.

Mood Changes

I really thought that after giving birth I would just walk around with a permanent smile on my face, overjoyed all the time. I was wrong. I was moody. I had highs and was happy at times. I had the most beautiful baby boy and cuddling with him was the best feeling on Earth. I also had lows. I had never held a baby before the nurses handed me my son and at times I was overwhelmed and tired. Hormonal fluctuations can factor into postpartum mood changes.

Fatigue

I didn’t know what tired was until I became a mother. Feeding every two hours is physically exhausting. Overseeing a new life and all the amazing feelings that brings along as well as all the scared feelings that also comes along with being a new mother is mentally and emotionally exhausting.

39 views0 comments
bottom of page