top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

3 Reasons to Take Your Baby Outside Daily

Every night I sit on the balcony with my 7-month-old son. I have been doing this for a few months now. I love the time we spend on the balcony together. It’s our mommy son time.

Now we watch the dogs, I talk about what we can see and hear and he looks around, cooing and laughing.

One day, I hope this is a time when he will talk to me. Talk to me about his day. His fears. His dreams. Anything.

It’s a tradition I hope to keep for a very long time.

On the weekends, I take him outside twice a day. I might take him out to the balcony, the backyard, or to the park. Sometimes I bring his jumper or his walker with me. Sometimes we just go for a walk. Sometimes he falls asleep in my arms.

The fresh air seems to relax him and puts him in a better mood even when he is fussy.

The importance of a daily dose of fresh air is underrated and is so good for babies.

Eventually, I’m hoping that I can use this time to be model for the importance of plugging into your family and not into the devices.

Quality Time

Taking your baby outside is a great way to spend quality, screen-free time together. At this point, that is really forcing me to be screen free. With modern technology, it is so easy to spend all our time in front screens - cell phones, television, laptops, tablets and video games. I admit I can be a little addicted and glued to my phone and my computer but when I am outside with him, I’m focused on him. Eventually, I’m hoping that I can use this time to be model for the importance of plugging into your family and not into the devices.

Improved Sleep

A study found that spending time outside in the fresh air and sunshine will help your baby sleep better and longer. I know it helps me sleep better.

General Health

Fresh air cleans your baby’s lungs and increases oxygen intake. Studies show that fresh air can help reduce obesity, ADD , improve mental performance, vision, creativity and problems solving. Being outside also helps increase their daily dose of vitamin D, which assists in bone strength and lowers risk of cancer.

What are your thoughts and experiences?

71 views0 comments
bottom of page