top of page
  • Writer's pictureCynthia Hansford

How I Am Teaching My Son To Love Reading

As a teacher and a mom it's very important to me that I teach my son to love reading.

In my classroom, I would like to teach my students to love reading but in all reality with so much focus being on data and test scores, I'm not sure that I'm always as successful as I would like to be.

When I design lessons to use in my classroom, my focus is on the standards and rigor and less on the enjoyment.

In my home, though, and with my son, I am less concerned about the standards and more concerned with creating fun activities that will encourage him to want to read, engage in crafts, make snacks in the kitchen and creating good memories that he will associate with books and reading.

Of course, some of the teacher in me always comes out even in the activities I create for my son and I often incorporate some standards.

What do you as a teacher mom to encourage your own children to love reading?

5 views0 comments
bottom of page